This Years ForArgyll Awards

After the succesful and exciting ForArgyll awards competition of last year, where Argyll related websites could win an award in several categories, there will be a new round this year, again held by the popular and fast growing ForArgyll website. Last year several Islay websites were fortunate to win an award. An taigh-osda was the winner in the category best Accommodation and best Restaurant. Brian's Ride of the Falling Rain won in the best event category. I myself won in three categories, best blog, best community website and best tourism website with the Islay Info Website and my Islay Weblog. Although I felt very honoured and in fact still do, I think this year should be different. Armin was kind enough to mention my blog when he wrote about the awards last night but to be honest, I'd rather not be nominated this year. I really believe that the same website should not be nominated for the second time in a row and therefore I would like to nominate Armin's Islay Blog this year in the category Best Community Website. If we all support him, we can perhaps have another winner from Islay in this category. I have listed all the categories in which you can nominate websites below and I have mentioned some Islay and Jura websites from which I believe that could/should be nominated. Continue reading......

These are the categories in which we can nominate an Islay or Argyll website and include my personal favourites:
Best Achievement for Argyll: Islay Energy Trust
Best Tourism Initiative: Jura Passenger Ferry
Best Environmental Initiative: Islay Energy Trust
Best Community Initiative: Port Ellen Primary School Blog
Best Homecoming Event: Islay Homecoming Parade - Islay Festival
Best Major Event: Islay Festival
Best Community Event: Cantilena Festival and Islay Beach Rugby
Best Arts Event Programme: Islay Pipe Band
Best Activity Website: Islay Birding
Best Wildlife Website: Wildlife for Kids and Ian's Birds Blog
Best Community Website: Armin's Islay Blog
Best Local Newspaper The Ileach

What next? Go to the For Argyll Nominations Page and submit your nominees before midnight on 23rd December. Finalists in each category will be announced on 24th December. Online Voting and the link to the Voting webpage opens at 9.00am on Christmas Morning, 25th December and closes at Midnight on Hogmanay, 31st December. Winners in each category and the recipients of the two special ForArgyll Awards will be announced on New Year’s Day, 1st January 2010.

Tag: awards argyll

Comments are closed